Disney Legends Award Winners Announced Ahead Of D23 Expo

Stan Lee has been the mind behind many of Marvel’s most famous heroes

With the D23 Expo quickly approaching, the recipients of this year’s Disney Legends Award have been announced, adding to the legacy of honorees thirty years strong!

Past winners have included many different actors, artists, celebrities and craftspeople, all with the common thread of contributing to the Disney legacy in a notable way. This year’s list of honorees certainly lives up to that mark!

Perhaps most noteworthy of the honorees this year will be the posthumous awarding to Carrie Fisher, talented writer and actress, most famous for her iconic portrayal of Princess Leia in the Star Wars franchise. Fisher completed recording for the next installment in the films before her passing, which is set for release later this year.

Julie Taymor was the first female director to win a Tony Award, for her work on “Lion King”

Also accepting the award this year is fellow actor Mark Hamill, legendary Marvel comic book creator Stan Lee, philanthropist and personality Oprah Winfrey, Broadway director and Lion King adaptor Julie Taymor, writer and producer Garry Marshall, Disney attraction developer Wayne Jackson, artist and early Disney visionary Manuel Gonzales, and animator/Disney producer Clyde “Gerry” Geronimi.

As has become a D23 tradition, honorees will receive their accolade live during the convention, direct from Disney CEO Bob Iger. The ceremony will be held Friday, July 14, at 10 am in Hall D23.

The DAPs Magic team would like to extend a hearty, “Congratulations” to those honored this year!


Share your thoughts and comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top