Ten Orange County High School Students Receive Disneyland Resort Scholarship for Excellence in Community Service, Academics and Leadership

DAPs Magic Disney News – PRESS RELEASE

ANAHEIM, Calif. May 17, 2012 – For the seventh consecutive year, the Disneyland Resort presented a total of $50,000 in scholarships to 10 exemplary high school seniors for outstanding community service, academic excellence and overall leadership.

Each student will receive a $5,000 scholarship to be used toward furthering their education. The selected students were surprised at their schools by a “prize patrol” led by Disneyland Resort Ambassador Jolie Hales. The scholarship recipients were congratulated with personalized 2012 mortarboard Mickey Mouse ears and an invitation to a celebratory dinner at the Disneyland Resort May 23, at which they will dine with local government officials, nonprofit leaders, judges and Disney executives.

The recipients of the 2011-2012 Disneyland Resort scholarship program are:

Allison Aoun of Orange – attends Orange County High School of the Arts and volunteers at the Santa Ana Historical Preservation Society

Haley Broder of Rossmoor – attends Los Alamitos High School and volunteers at the Bnai Brith Youth Organization

Caroline Cannan of Aliso Viejo – attends Laguna Beach High School and volunteers at the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Orange County

Hannah Choe of Fullerton – attends Sunny Hills High School and volunteers at One Legacy

Meaghan Hurr of Laguna Niguel – attends St. Margaret’s Episcopal School and volunteers at The Breakthrough Collaborative

Ryan Lindeborg of Laguna Niguel – attends Dana Hills High School and volunteers at Destination Imagination

Kaiti Liu of Irvine – attends Arnold O. Beckman High School and volunteers at the American Cancer Society

Alexa O’Connell of Laguna Hills – attends Mater Dei High School and volunteers at Catholic Charities of Orange County

Alberto Tapia of Santa Ana – attends Saddleback High School and volunteers at the Delhi Center

Michael Tompkins of Mission Viejo – attends Capistrano Valley High School and volunteers at the Orange County Reserve Deputy’s Sheriff Association


A distinguished panel of judges reviewed the applications and selected the 10 college-bound students to receive the scholarships. The judges included:

Marian Bergesion – State Senator (Retired), State of California Legislature

Brian Calle – Opinion Columnist and Editorial Writer, Orange County Register

Steve Churm – CEO, Churm Media

Bill Dalati – President, Arab American Broadcasting Company

Gail Eastman – Anaheim City Council Member, City of Anaheim

Eileen Frere – Orange County Bureau Chief, ABC7 Eyewitness News

Dana Harvey – Owner and Founder, HARVEYS

Michael Kasler – President, Cypress College

Cathi Killian – Vice President of Corporate Citizenship, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts

Rich Langhorst – Vice President of Facilities and Operations Services & 2011 VoluntEAR of the Year, Disneyland Resort

José Mota – Angels Broadcaster, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

Noelle Nitz – President, Institute for Financial Mastery and Black Business Network Orange County


All scholarship applicants received two Disneyland Resort park hopper tickets in recognition of their efforts. Their commitment to community service totaled nearly 60,000 hours of volunteer time.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Share your thoughts and comment!

DAPs Magic

DAPs Magic






Top Posts & Pages
The History of the Candlelight Ceremony at Disneyland
Space 220 Restaurant Now Open in EPCOT at Walt Disney World Resort
Menu and More Revealed for EPCOT's Space 220
New Steamboat Willie Disney PhotoPass Magic Shot Offered to Disneyland Magic Key Holders
Disney+ Day to Celebrate 2nd Anniversary of Disney's Streaming Service with Arrival of Shang-Chi, Jungle Cruise, and More!
Limited Time Menu Revealed for California Grill in Celebration of Walt Disney World's 50th Anniversary
Knott's Scary Farm is Back in 2021 with New Mazes, Scare Zones, and Shows!
A Look at the Metrics of the Magic Key Pass Program