Griffin III, Luck and Richardson among Award Recipients at The Home Depot College Football Awards

DAPs Magic Disney News – PRESS RELEASE

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (Dec. 8, 2011) — Quarterbacks Robert Griffin III of Baylor and Andrew Luck of Stanford, along with Alabama running back Trent Richardson each claimed top awards during the 21st annual The Home Depot College Football Awards hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard and Erin Andrews on ESPN Thursday night live from the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Heisman finalists Luck, a senior from Houston, Texas, won the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year; Griffin III, a junior from Copperas Cove, Texas, earned the Davey O’Brien Award for the nation’s most outstanding quarterback; and Richardson, a junior from Pensacola, Fla., won the Doak Walker Award for the nation’s most outstanding running back.  LSU’s cornerback, Tyrann Mathieu, a sophomore from New Orleans, LA, also a Heisman finalist, won the Chuck Bednarik Award for the college defensive player of the year.

Other notable awards included the presentation of LSU coach Les Miles with the previously announced The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award and Northwestern State University senior linebacker Yaser Elqutub as the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain- a community service award determined by college football fan voters for the work players conduct off the field.


Award / Presented By Finalists and Winner

Chuck Bednarik Award

College Defensive Player of the Year

ESPN Analyst Matt Millen


Dont’a Hightower, Alabama

Tyrann Mathieu. LSU – WINNER

Devon Still, Penn State


Biletnikoff Award

Nation’s Most Outstanding Receiver

Fred Biletnikoff*


Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State (2010 award winner) – WINNER

Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma

Robert Woods, USC


Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Nation’s Most Outstanding Placekicker

Judd Groza (son of Lou Groza)


Randy Bullock, Texas A&M  – WINNER    

Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Caleb Sturgis, Florida


Ray Guy Award

Nation’s Most Outstanding Punter

Ray Guy*


Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech – WINNER

Steven Clark, Auburn

Jackson Rice, Oregon


Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year

Herschel Walker* (1982 winner)


Andrew Luck, Stanford – WINNER

Kellen Moore, Boise State

Trent Richardson, Alabama


Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Nation’s Best Quarterback

Jim McMahon* (1981 winner)


Robert Griffin III, Baylor – WINNER

Case Keenum, Houston

Andrew Luck, Stanford


Outland Trophy

Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman

ESPN Analyst Mark May* (1980 winner)


David DeCastro, Stanford

Barrett Jones, Alabama – WINNER

Devon Still, Penn State


Jim Thorpe Award

Nation’s Most Outstanding Defensive Back

Governor Bill Anoatubby


David Amerson, NC State

Mark Barron, Alabama

Morris Claiborne, LSU – WINNER


Doak Walker Award

Nation’s Most Outstanding Running Back

Calvin Hill


Montee Ball, Wisconsin

LaMichael James, Oregon (2010 award winner)

Trent Richardson, Alabama – WINNER


The Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year



Andrew Luck, Stanford 


*College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team, including the Walter Camp All-America Team Player of the Year, Andrew Luck:

Player Team
Player of the Year
Presented by Lincoln Kennedy (1992 All-America Team)
Andrew Luck Stanford
Offensive Team
Quarterback Andrew Luck Stanford
Wide Receiver Justin Blackmon Oklahoma State
Wide Receiver Ryan Broyles Oklahoma
Tight End Tyler Eifert Notre Dame
Offensive Lineman David DeCastro Stanford
Offensive Lineman Barrett Jones Alabama
Offensive Lineman Matt Kalil USC
Offensive Lineman Jonathan Martin Stanford
Center David Molk Michigan
Running Back LaMichael James Oregon
Running Back Trent Richardson Alabama
Defensive Team
Defensive Lineman Melvin Ingram South Carolina
Defensive Lineman Whitney Mercilus Illinois
Defensive Lineman Devon Still Penn State
Defensive Lineman Jerel Worth Michigan State
Linebacker Dont’a Hightower Alabama
Linebacker Jarvis Jones Georgia
Linebacker Luke Kuechly Boston College
Defensive Back David Amerson N.C. State
Defensive Back Mark Barron Alabama
Defensive Back Morris Claiborne LSU
Defensive Back Tyrann Mathieu LSU
Special Team
Placekicker Randy Bullock Texas A&M
Punter Shawn Powell Florida State
Punt Returner Tyler Lockett Kansas State

Several other awards were recognized during this year’s show, several of which were announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show hosted by Erin Andrews, Tom Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah on ESPNU:

  • Rimington Trophy (nation’s most outstanding center) David Molk, Michigan
  • John Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end): Dwayne Allen, Clemson
  • Rotary Lombardi Award(nation’s most outstanding lineman): Luke KuechlyBoston College
  • Frank Broyles Award (top assistant coach): John Chavis, LSU defensive coordinator
  • William V. Campbell Trophy (academic success) Andrew Rodriguez, Army

Additionally, ESPNU’s debut season of the Palmer & Pollack show hosted a red carpet special prior to the awards show and recognized the following end of season college football moments and players:

  • Catch of the Year: Michigan State’s Hail Mary against Wisconsin on October 22
  • MANimal of the Year: Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
  • #TeamPalmer (All-Offensive Team): Andrew Luck, Stanford; Trent Richardson, Alabama; Montee Ball, Wisconsin; Kenall Wright, Baylor; Matt Kalil, USC
  • #TeamPollack (All-Defensive Team): Tyrann Mathieu, LSU; Luke Kuechly, Boston College; Jarvis Jones, Georgia; Lavonte David, Nebraska; Melvin Ingram, South Carolina

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site,

Share your thoughts and comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top