Sixth Annual Old Spice Classic Continues Holiday Hoops Tradition at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex

DAPs Magic Disney News – PRESS RELEASE

Premier preseason Division I men’s college basketball tournament tips off Thanksgiving Day at HP Field House at Walt Disney World Resort

Lake Buena Vista, Fla. (Nov. 18, 2011)— ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12 and Pac-10 teams lead the sixth annual Old Spice Classic field at Walt Disney World Resort during Thanksgiving weekend at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex.

The Old Spice Classic, one of the premier preseason Division I men’s college basketball tournaments in the nation, features Indiana State, Arizona State, Dayton, DePaul, Minnesota, Wake Forest, Fairfield and Texas Tech playing Nov. 24, 25 and 27.

Minnesota features Ralph Sampson III, son of four-time NBA All-Star Ralph Sampson, and Austin Hollins, son of Memphis Grizzles coach Lionel Hollins.  And Fairfield features Adam Jones, son of Boston Celtics coach Doc Rivers.

The tournament tips offs Thanksgiving Day with Texas Tech against Indiana State at noon followed by Minnesota versus DePaul at 2 p.m., Dayton against Wake Forest at  7 p.m. and Arizona State versus Fairfield at 9 p.m. In all, there will be 12 games over the three days. Each team competes in one game per day and advances through a bracket-tournament format.  The two undefeated teams face off in the championship game Sunday, Nov. 27. All games will air on ESPN networks.

Notre Dame captured the 2010 Old Spice Classic title, while Florida State won the 2009 Classic. Previous winners were Gonzaga in 2008, North Carolina State in 2007 and Arkansas in 2006.

Tickets for the Old Spice Classic are available through Ticketmaster (800/745-3000 and and at the sports complex box office.

Tournament Schedule

Date Time (ET) Game Network
Thu, Nov 24 Noon Game 1: Texas Tech vs. Indiana State ESPN2
2 p.m. Game 2: Minnesota vs. DePaul ESPN2
7 p.m. Game 3: Dayton vs. Wake Forest ESPN2
9 p.m. Game 4: Arizona State vs. Fairfield ESPN2
Fri, Nov 25 Noon Game 5: Loser game 1 vs. Loser game 2 ESPN
2:30 p.m. Game 6: Winner game 1 vs. Winner game 2 ESPNU
5 p.m. Game 7: Winner game 3 vs. Winner game 4 ESPN2
7:30 p.m. Game 8: Loser game 3 vs. Loser game 4 ESPN2
Sun, Nov 27 11:30 a.m. Game 9: Loser game 5 vs. Loser game 8 ESPN3
2 p.m. Game 10: Winner game 5 vs. Winner game 8 ESPNU
4:30 p.m. Game 11: Loser game 6 vs. Loser game 7 ESPN2
6:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Share your thoughts and comment!

DAPs Magic

DAPs Magic






Top Posts & Pages
Disney Cruise Line Unveils Disney Wish Prices
The History of the Candlelight Ceremony at Disneyland
Disney CEO Bob Chapek Drops Hints About Future for Disneyland Legacy Passholders
A Week of Change - DISNEY Reporter
Reservations Open Up for Disney Park Pass at Walt Disney World as Capacity Increases
Disney Weddings Coming to the Disney Wish
Disney Cruise Line Reveals First-Of-Its-Kind Funnel Suite on Disney Wish
Star+ Will Arrive In Latin America On August 31