“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By” is Now Available!

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By is now available for fans to listen to. This comes a week before Black Panther: Wakanda Forever arrives in theaters on November 11, 2022. The album includes Rihanna’s Lift Me Up and features performances from over 40 international artists recorded in Lagos, Nigeria, Mexico City, London, and Los Angeles. Beyond Rihanna, this includes Burna Boy, Tems, Fireboy DML, OG DAYV Ft. Future, CKay Ft. PinkPantheress, E-40, Alemán Ft. Rema, Blue Rojo, and others.

Ludwig Göransson, who has two Emmys®, two Grammys® and an Oscar® to his credit, composed and produced both the score and the original songs on the soundtrack. This is his fourth cinematic collaboration with director Ryan Coogler. This soundtrack was executive produced by Ryan Coogler’s Proximity Media, produced by Ludwig Göransson, in collaboration with Archie Davis, and Dave Jordan. Göransson shared that he and Coogler worked hard to make a soundscape where “The songs and score are one.”

Göransson said, “Ryan and I talked about the importance of creating an immersive journey of sound and voice. If we used a song in the film, we wanted it to be the entire song, and to be connected to the story. Thematically, we wanted to move the audience from grief to celebration. When you listen to the soundtrack, you can close your eyes and relive the experience of the movie. That was the intention.”

Göransson spent over 2500 hours recording the score and soundtrack. This included the involvement of six studios, across three continents and five countries. This included the work of 250 musicians, two orchestras, two choirs, and over 40 vocalists. 

With the inspiration of Nigerian and Mesoamerican cultures for the film, recording sessions were sup in Lagos, Nigeria and also in Mexico City, Mexico. There were also recording sessions at Abbey Road Studios in London. While in Mexico City, Göransson worked with music archeologist Alejandro Rojas to explore and research Mayan music. Instruments that are native to both Nigerian and Mesoamerican cultures were featured and utilized in the creation of the soundscape for this film.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By Track Listing

01. Lift Me Up Performed by Rihanna
02. Love & Loyalty (Believe) Performed by DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
03. Alone Performed by Burna Boy
04. No Woman No Cry Performed by Tems
05. Árboles Bajo El Mar Performed by Vivir Quintana and Mare Advertencia
06. Con La Brisa Performed by Foudeqush and Ludwig Göransson
07. La Vida Performed by Snow Tha Product featuring E-40
08. Interlude Performed by Stormzy
09. Coming Back For You Performed by Fireboy DML
10. They Want It, But No Performed by Tobe Nwigwe and Fat Nwigwe
11. Laayli’ kuxa’ano’one Performed by ADN Maya Colectivo: Pat Boy, Yaalen K’uj, All Mayan Winik
12. Limoncello Performed by OG DAYV featuring Future
13. Anya Mmiri Performed by CKay featuring PinkPantheress
14. Wake Up Performed by Bloody Civilian featuring Rema
15. Pantera Performed by Alemán featuring Rema
16. Jele Performed by DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna and Busiswa
17. Inframundo Performed by Blue Rojo
18. No Digas Mi Nombre Performed by calle x vida and Foudeqush
19. Mi Pueblo Performed by Guadalupe de Jesús Chan Poot

The score for Black Panther: Wakanda Forever will be released on November 11, 2022.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By can be listened to in its entirety here:

What do you think of Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By? Are you excited about this movie? Share your thoughts and opinions in the comments below!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.